Quiet, self-catering cottage, pool, beach 1km
Quiet, self-catering cottage, pool, beach 1km
4 gasten
2 slaapkamers
4 Bedden
2 badkamers
4 gasten
2 slaapkamers
4 Bedden
2 badkamers
Je wordt nog niets in rekening gebracht

UK owned spacious bungalow, western standards, private pool, pleasant landscaped garden. Ideal for 2 couples or family of 4.
Main double bedroom; ensuite, a/c and fan.
2nd bedroom; two single beds, a/c, fan.
Separate shower room/toilet.
Hi-Speed Wifi throughout house (we ask consideration since we have to pay usage).
Fully equipped kitchen.
Large outside covered porch at rear.
Dishna (separate private flat) is there to ensure a wonderful visit.
Our 1st year, so our prices are aggressive

De ruimte

We suggest that visitors should like dogs, or at least are comfortable with them. We have three extremely friendly dogs, who like nothing more than spend all their time with people. We also have 2 rather aloof cats, whose only interest in humans is during feeding time. Don't worry, Dishna sees to all the looking after of the animals.
Since we have a pool, we have to share with the locals who come in for a dip several times a day - if you are patient/quiet you will see them dipping in an out of the pool having a wash (yes, these 'locals' are birds, actually Kingfishers). The bird-life is extensive with all the plant-life we have. You can also enjoy the chipmunks playing and the occasional iguana sunning him/herself on top of our walls.
If you are lucky, you'll see monkeys coming onto the roof/walls to check-out what's available (they never come in the garden, the dogs discourage them).
We do keep the gates closed during the day, since any cows walking by, might like to enjoy some of our scrummy plants (the local free-range chickens would also like the opportunity of checking us out).
Evenings, the Gekkos feed on the flies by the lights and the fruit bats set off to forage.
Our favourite time is early evening, with a glass of beer/wine, surrounded by the dogs, watching a glorious sunset.

Toegang voor gasten

We keep one locked room for our private things and the rest of the house is available for your comfort; 2 bedrooms, bathroom and shower rooms, very large living-room cum dining room, kitchen and working area.
We quickly realised why all expats here spend most of their time outside, it's the most comfortable place to be in here in the tropics. As well as large porch at the front (with a fan), we have built a massive porch at the back, with cooling fans, to enjoy the days and evenings in airy comfort.

Interactie met gasten

Dishna speaks English very well and has even grown to understand our 'odd' western humour. She is a lovely soul, who is there to offer whatever help and advice you need. Our gardner-cum driver, Sukiri, whose English is coming on well, is also there to ferry you around in either of our three-wheelers. Should you want to venture on a trip locally, or further afield, they can arrange the drivers we use ourselves. Importantly, you will not be ripped-off by any of the other drivers we engage on your behalf.
Please be aware this is a third world country and while you are perfectly safe in this beautiful and friendly place, there are those that might take advantage.
Dishna and Sukiri are there to guide and help you get the most out of your stay.

Andere dingen waar je op moet letten

When you arrive there will be milk, bread and butter in the fridge and our favourite local tea. The nearest beach, 5mins in a tuk-tuk, is where the locals net and catch fish; they'd love you to join them hauling in the nets on the beach. Be warned, it may look easy, but it's hard, sweaty work (I know!), but good fun.
This is a predominately Buddhist culture, with secondary religions of Christianity and Islam. For the workers, it's great, they have many public holidays that gets them off work. For visitors, be prepared - bars and restaurants can close, but definitely won't serve alcohol on those days. Just buy a few beers, spirirts or wine and have a pleasant evening at home.
As is everywhere here, there can be power cuts during the day, but we have a generator that powers the fans, tv, fridges/freezer, computers, so all is good. The only thing to be aware of is that A/Cs can't operate, nor other higher power electrical items.
If you don't fancy cooking, Dishna and Sukiri will be happy to prepare a meal.
The property will be cleaned one per week and you'll get fresh bedding and towels.
While perfectly safe, we use well water for everything except cooking and drinking. We have a water machine with lovely sweet bottled water, which makes the most glorious cuppa'.


Voorzieningen
Keuken
Internet
TV
Basisvoorzieningen

Prijzen
Extra mensen €9 / nacht na 2 gasten
Wekelijkse korting: 5%
Communiceer altijd via Airbnb
Maak nooit geld over en communiceer nooit buiten de Airbnb-website of app, om je betaling te beschermen.
Lees Meer

Slaapkamerindeling
Slaapkamer 1
1 queensize bed
Slaapkamer 2
2 eenpersoonsbedden

Huisregels
Uitchecken voor 12:00

Je erkent ook
Dog(s) en cat(s) live in the house

Annuleringen

Veiligheidsvoorzieningen
EHBO-doos
Veiligheidskaart
Blusapparaat

Beschikbaarheid
Minimum verblijf 3 nachten

(Nog) geen recensies

Deze woning heeft nog geen recensies. Als jij hier verblijft, is dit waar je recensie verschijnt.

Lid sinds september 2015
Gebruikersprofiel Disna

Eileen, Ian and I (Dishna) are a close-nit family and here to help you enjoy the experience of Sri Lankan rural life (but with western comforts).
I have lived in Dubai for many years and am at home with western expectations. I speak Arabic, Hindi, Tamil and obviously English (Ian speaks German and a little French).
Life with us has no pressure; get up when you want, bring in your own food/drink, sloth around the pool all day (or not), come and go as you wish (but, please respect our community, as they do us).

Talen: Deutsch, English, Français, Hindi

De buurt

Vergelijkbare advertenties